Faculty of Plant Biology

Basic Information

Personal Website:
Miller Plant Sciences, Rm 4617
Lab office:
Miller Plant Sciences, Rm 4604
Lab phone:
Research Interests:

Our primary focus is plant evolutionary genetics and genomics. More specifically, we're studying the genetic basis of evolutionary divergence within the sunflower family (i.e., the Compositae or the Asteraceae). We also maintain an interest in the ecological and evolutionary impact of transgene escape from genetically modified crops into their wild relatives.

  • USDA-NIFA Biotechnology Risk Assessment Grants (BRAG) Program (Award #2016-33522-25630). Short-term experiments as predictors of long-term patterns of gene introgression in crop-wild hybrids. 09/01/2016-08/31/2019. (lead PI w/1 co-PI).

  • NSF Plant Genome Research Program (Award #IOS-1444522). 08/15/15-07/31/20. Evolutionary genomics of abiotic stress resistance in wild and cultivated sunflowers. (lead PI w/5 co-PIs).

  • Genome Canada – Large-Scale Applied Research Project Competition. 10/01/15-09/30/19. Genomics of abiotic stress resistance in wild and cultivated sunflowers. $7,879,009 (co-Project Leader w/6 co-PIs).
  • Industry Consortium. 01/15/12-01/14/19. Sunflower genomic resources. $840,000 (one of 3 co-PIs; $280,000 to UGA w/additional funds under negotiation).

1994-1999     Ph.D. in Genetics, University of Georgia
1989-1993     B.S. in Genetics and Cell Biology, Minor in Statistics, University of Minnesota

Of note:
  • Associate Editor, The Journal of Heredity (2004-2010)
  • Associate Editor, Heredity (2006-2010)
  • USDA panel member, Plant Genome Research Program (2009)
  • NSF panel member, Plant Genome Research Program (2005, 2007)
  • NSF Young Investigator Award in Plant Genome Research (2003-2008)

Articles Featuring John M. Burke

Thursday, March 28, 2019 - 4:00pm

Dr. John Burke was recently awarded the title of "Distinguished Research Professor." This title is awarded to faculty who are internationally recognized for their original contributions to knowledge and whose work promises to foster continued creativity in their discipline. Congrats, Dr.